The Art of the Australian Insult


I called him a monkey but it wasn’t racist, honest…
July 9, 2008, 11:59 pm
Filed under: Ethnic Insults, Sport | Tags: , , ,

“My comment was not meant as a racial slur regarding the colour of his skin, but as a general comment. I do not see myself as a racist. I understand that what I said was taken in the wrong context, as I was only repeating other slurs that were being yelled around me. I can understand how Petero may have taken the comment the wrong way.”

Paramatta fan Espero Vega says he did call Penrith captain Petero Civoniceva a “fucking monkey” but it wasn’t meant to be racist. Paramatta chief executive Denis Fitgerald isn’t impressed:

“To call it a general comment is ridiculous,” Fitzgerald said. “I’ve seen his written apology and I have to say I wasn’t very impressed by it. It certainly wasn’t an unconditional apology. So it remains to be seen if he is genuinely sorry for what he’s said.”

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Espero is a potato head and looks more like a monkey the Petero…..

Ban him for life the creature……

Comment by Johnny Sukapenis

Well Jackie Selebi was obviously not being racist when he called one of his subordinates a baboon.

Comment by plaasjaapie




Leave a Reply

