The Art of the Australian Insult


Eurotrash brogue meets Paddington shop assistant
July 11, 2008, 1:43 am
Filed under: Cultural Cringe, Lifestyles | Tags:

“I don’t quite get their obsession with this particular bird family. I have been noticing the change over the past couple of years on my daily train trips, particularly among young schoolgirls, but I must admit some of my late 20-something girlfriends have also been infected. Recent media articles are saying the “yoof” of today are talking like Americans, but I don’t think it is as simple as that. It sounds to me like a Eurotrash brogue with some American inflections and a splash of Paddington shop assistant modulation.”

Siobhan Moylan wonders why so many young Australians are using the word “like” (pronounced “lark”): “Lark then I saird are you lark sargesting to may thaaat I need to updaaate mar wardrobe”.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

