The Art of the Australian Insult


“I get a little annoyed”
July 15, 2008, 2:56 am
Filed under: Religion | Tags:

“Everyone was welcome at the Olympics. However, because I don’t believe in a Christian God, along with a great many other Sydneysiders, I’m not welcome at Youth Day.

I welcome all visitors to Youth Day, as I would an assembly of Muslims, Jews, or any other interest. But when I’m asked to leave my home to clear the streets for it, to think about what T-shirt I put on to avoid a $5,500 fine, forgo a decent crossing of The Spit or a modern hospital for the northern beaches or any number of things on which $100 million would have been better spent, all the while being told that I’m contributing to the ruin of society and will surely burn in everlasting hell, I get a little annoyed.”

Craig Sheppard, Newport, letter to the Sydney Morning Herald.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

