The Art of the Australian Insult


Proud to be a bogan
July 18, 2008, 1:20 am
Filed under: Aussie Aussie Aussie, Lifestyles, Social class | Tags:

“What if I had come from an underprivileged background? What if I’d had a poor education? Is that something to hold against a person? I came to Australia to escape a dreadful caste system.

And then, I paused from my bourgeois whingeing and realized how deeply proud I am to be called bogan. Until now I’d never felt at home. At last, I am Australian. A genuine she’ll-be-right-onya-mate ocker bogan. I’m going to send my neighbour a bunch of flowers to thank him. Nah, make that two slabs of beer.”

South African immigrant Hadass Segal reflects on the significance of being called a bogan by a neighbour.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

