The Art of the Australian Insult


“How dare he embarrass us in this manner”
August 20, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: Sex | Tags: ,

 “The outraged women of Mount Isa felt that the mayor’s comments were archaic and it is totally not the image that we want to project for our city. We can’t stand for this, we need to get out there and say ‘you need to go’. How dare he embarrass us in this manner.”

Mount Isa resident Tracy Pertovt, 35, has organised a protest calling for the resignation of mayor John Moloney, who this week called on ugly women to move to the town (because, as he implied, men there were desperate and they would get lucky). Moloney is unapologetic:

“They will have to do more than call for my resignation. I won’t be resigning because I’m quite comfortable with what I said. Mount Isa, my city, has taken the Olympic Games off the front page of papers all over Australia and the world and I’ve never heard of that happening before. People have supported me everywhere and at the moment I feel like I’m sitting on the top of Mount Kosciusko.”

Several residents wore T-shirts to a town meeting declaring “I’m ugly and I vote” or “Beauty-challenged”.

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

toughen up, princess

Comment by kaez




Leave a Reply

