The Art of the Australian Insult


“I’ll never ride in your sweatboxes”
October 16, 2008, 1:57 am
Filed under: Politicians, Transport

“The Government is a bunch of dunces who will never provide a decent public transport system. I don’t care if my solution isn’t green, I ride in air-conditioned comfort door-to-door and leave when I choose.

You can keep your graffiti-covered sweat boxes. I wouldn’t use them if they were free or the price of petrol doubled. Nothing beats the car and nothing ever will.

The local station doesn’t have a spare parking space after 8am but I couldn’t care less because I don’t use it. I know the Premier won’t do anything about the system and neither will any other politician.

It’s better to sit in a traffic jam than tolerate the permanent squalor offered by public transport.

If you are reading this letter on the train, have a look around and you’ll know I am right.”

Michael Stanbridge Bonnet Bay, letter to the Sydney Morning Herald

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] contrast, the buses are slow and commuters are packed like sardines at rush hour, and the trains are for the most part dirty and crowded, their windows and doors etched with […]

Pingback by Thought Leader » Sarah Britten » Getting around: Sydney vs Joburg




Leave a Reply

